Sweet Damage

Sweet Damage

A Novel

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
From the internationally bestselling author of Beautiful Malice comes a captivating novel of psychological suspense about love and friendship, loyalty and betrayal'perfect for readers of S.J. Watson and Lisa Unger. Tim Ellison feels lucky when he finds a cheap place to rent in his dream location, close to the restaurant where he works as a chef, and even closer to his favorite surf spot at Sydney's popular Manly Beach. But the cavernous house is infused with a sense of foreboding, and his furnished room there comes with a condition: he must look after the mansion's mysterious owner. Anna London is withdrawn and frail, a twenty-year-old with the inexplicable demeanor and habits of an elderly woman. From her grand home on the hill, she can see the city and the ocean, but she can never leave. Her anxieties keep her locked inside, unable to handle the outside world. As Tim settles in, he struggles to get to know the person who depends on him for food and care. Slowly, Anna reveals glimpses of herself'her history, her sadness, her crippling fears. And then strange things begin to happen: loud banging in the night, unexplained figures in the shadows, sinister messages on the walls. Tim is startled to find that even as his unease about the house grows, he is increasingly attracted to its hauntingly beautiful owner. But is Anna London someone to pity . . . someone to love . . . or someone to fear' Taut and intense, Sweet Damage is an addictive novel about vulnerability, obsession, and duplicity, with a modern Gothic twist. Praise for Rebecca James's previous novel, Beautiful Malice "Utterly gripping! Rebecca James is an exciting new writer."'Cecelia Ahern, author of PS, I Love You "[An] impressive debut . . . This unflinching exploration of psychological manipulation and the tragedies it creates introduces a promising new talent in literary suspense."'Publishers Weekly (starred review) "As the truth unfolds towards a devastating climax, no one escapes untouched. . . . One can only imagine what else Rebecca James has up her sleeve."'The Daily Mail "A good, suspenseful, psychological thriller . . . worthy of passing on to friends."'The Roanoke Times "Powerfully emotional . . . a mesmerizing story."'Wichita Falls Times Record News.
Publisher: New York : Bantam Books, 2014.
ISBN: 9780345539069
0345539060
Characteristics: 1 online resource.
Summary: From the internationally bestselling author of Beautiful Malice comes a captivating novel of psychological suspense about love and friendship, loyalty and betrayal'perfect for readers of S.J. Watson and Lisa Unger. Tim Ellison feels lucky when he finds a cheap place to rent in his dream location, close to the restaurant where he works as a chef, and even closer to his favorite surf spot at Sydney's popular Manly Beach. But the cavernous house is infused with a sense of foreboding, and his furnished room there comes with a condition: he must look after the mansion's mysterious owner. Anna London is withdrawn and frail, a twenty-year-old with the inexplicable demeanor and habits of an elderly woman. From her grand home on the hill, she can see the city and the ocean, but she can never leave. Her anxieties keep her locked inside, unable to handle the outside world. As Tim settles in, he struggles to get to know the person who depends on him for food and care. Slowly, Anna reveals glimpses of herself'her history, her sadness, her crippling fears. And then strange things begin to happen: loud banging in the night, unexplained figures in the shadows, sinister messages on the walls. Tim is startled to find that even as his unease about the house grows, he is increasingly attracted to its hauntingly beautiful owner. But is Anna London someone to pity . . . someone to love . . . or someone to fear' Taut and intense, Sweet Damage is an addictive novel about vulnerability, obsession, and duplicity, with a modern Gothic twist. Praise for Rebecca James's previous novel, Beautiful Malice "Utterly gripping! Rebecca James is an exciting new writer."'Cecelia Ahern, author of PS, I Love You "[An] impressive debut . . . This unflinching exploration of psychological manipulation and the tragedies it creates introduces a promising new talent in literary suspense."'Publishers Weekly (starred review) "As the truth unfolds towards a devastating climax, no one escapes untouched. . . . One can only imagine what else Rebecca James has up her sleeve."'The Daily Mail "A good, suspenseful, psychological thriller . . . worthy of passing on to friends."'The Roanoke Times "Powerfully emotional . . . a mesmerizing story."'Wichita Falls Times Record News.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
Sansha
Sep 29, 2015

Loved this psychological thriller. I loved the setting in and around Manly. I loved the main character, Tim, who is a decent young man who is drawn into a web of lies and deception, but who also finds love.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CML

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top