Charlie Sunday's Texas Outfit

Charlie Sunday's Texas Outfit

eBook - 2014
Rate this:
In the tradition of True Grit, Charley Sunday's Texas Outfit is a spirited tribute to a vanishing way of life--and to a courageous and honorable breed of men who helped to define the character of the American West. In the waning days of the Wild West, Texas rancher Charles Abner Sunday wants to leave a legacy of the Old West to his grandson, Henry-Ellis. Sunday buys 300 head of Texas longhorn cattle and leads his grandson--along with a ragtag crew of cronies and misfits--on an old-fashioned cross-country cattle drive. As the drovers struggle to push their 300 charges across a swiftly changing American frontier, they butt heads with a Colorado meatpacker hell-bent on living in the wild, wild past. Driven to possess Charley Sunday's cattle by any means necessary, the aging but still tough-as-leather Texas outfit must go to war one last time. In the course of their journey, a young boy will learn what it means to be a man, and some old men will remember what it means to be truly alive.
Publisher: New York : Kensington Books, Kensington Pub. Co., 2014.
Edition: First electronic edition.
ISBN: 9780786033904
0786033908
Characteristics: 1 online resource.
Summary: In the tradition of True Grit, Charley Sunday's Texas Outfit is a spirited tribute to a vanishing way of life--and to a courageous and honorable breed of men who helped to define the character of the American West. In the waning days of the Wild West, Texas rancher Charles Abner Sunday wants to leave a legacy of the Old West to his grandson, Henry-Ellis. Sunday buys 300 head of Texas longhorn cattle and leads his grandson--along with a ragtag crew of cronies and misfits--on an old-fashioned cross-country cattle drive. As the drovers struggle to push their 300 charges across a swiftly changing American frontier, they butt heads with a Colorado meatpacker hell-bent on living in the wild, wild past. Driven to possess Charley Sunday's cattle by any means necessary, the aging but still tough-as-leather Texas outfit must go to war one last time. In the course of their journey, a young boy will learn what it means to be a man, and some old men will remember what it means to be truly alive.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CML

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top