Ready Player One

Ready Player One

[a Novel]

Downloadable Audiobook - 2011 | Unabridged.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
29
17
3
 …
At once wildly original and stuffed with irresistible nostalgia, READY PLAYER ONE is a spectacularly genre-busting, ambitious, and charming debut-- part quest novel, part love story, and part virtual space opera set in a universe where spell-slinging mages battle giant Japanese robots, entire planets are inspired by Blade Runner, and flying DeLoreans achieve light speed.
Publisher: [Westminster, Md]. : Books on Tape, 2011.
Edition: Unabridged.
ISBN: 9780307913159
0307913155
Characteristics: 1 online resource (1 sound file (15 hrs., 40 min., 36 sec.)) : digital.
Additional Contributors: Wheaton, Wil
Summary: At once wildly original and stuffed with irresistible nostalgia, READY PLAYER ONE is a spectacularly genre-busting, ambitious, and charming debut-- part quest novel, part love story, and part virtual space opera set in a universe where spell-slinging mages battle giant Japanese robots, entire planets are inspired by Blade Runner, and flying DeLoreans achieve light speed.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
midori_hon
Aug 26, 2018

3.75 stars for the audiobook narrated by wil wheaton, who is marvelous
this is my 3rd iteration of ready player one after reading hardback and watching the spielberg adaptation. especially fun for people who actually experienced the 80s, even those like me who are low on the tech geek scale.

c
CarlosCobos1
Aug 08, 2018

Really enjoyed this book, perhaps it's because of my age but I liked all the references to the 80's video games, the movies, RPGs and music. Very good plot as well. Very fun read.

a
acooper112
Aug 01, 2018

One of the greatest books I have read so far. I couldn't put it down and I finished it in three days.

r
RescueDog
Jul 16, 2018

I listened to the book rather than reading it. Will Wheaton is a fantastic reader. I don’t know if I would have enjoyed it nearly so much if I had read it instead.

d
darladoodles
May 11, 2018

This was quite the 80's fanfest and I enjoyed the many ways that movies, music, video games and more were used to help the competitors find the keys. Some sections dragged on a bit much and erred on the side of pessimisim for the future. Overall, though, an enjoyable audiobook.

h
HKMar
Mar 20, 2018

Four Stars! Very good!!
If you're a nerd, gamer, or someone that appreciates D&D, Tolkien, fantasy, internet culture, sci-fi and dystopian/alternate universe genres/topics...read this!. More than ever is this book relevant. It touches on topics such as society, VR/Tech, pop culture, generation X,Y, &Z!
I love that normally unrepresented groups such as women in gaming, minorities in gaming, the government/military nefarious involvements in tech industries and their power. I read the downloadable audio book with Will Wheaton as the narrator. I really hope Spielberg does this book justice. I am extremely intrigued and curious about how H's character will play out in the movie as well as Art3mis' character since she has unique unrepresented and taboo physicality.

s
suewakeman4
Mar 02, 2018

*****
I give it maximum stars. This is a rare case where the audio book is rated higher than even the actual book. It starts a bit slow, as do most stories that have to lay the groundwork. But it quickly picks up speed and stays compelling throughout. Highly recommended. It's no wonder that Spielberg chose it to go to screen!

j
jordanjb
Mar 01, 2018

I listened to “Ready Player One” by Ernest Cline Via Audible, plus read just a bit on Kindle, syncing with the audio. My husband and adult daughter both enjoyed it, and it is being released as a movie, so I decided to give it a shot and liked it quite a bit.
At first I gave it four stars, but have given that rating to “books I could never forget,” so dropped this down to a three. While I liked it a lot, I think it won’t stick with me over time. I have recommended it to a few people already though.
Will Wheaton was a terrific narrator, and the story remained interesting throughout.
I’m not a gamer, but I was in my 20’s in the 80’s and I could relate to the culture references as well as knowing the names of some of the games. No trouble following along, and it was easy to stay interested.
This is a “buddy” story and the main characters are older teens. I would classify it as young adult fiction, also not an issue for me, though I am no longer a young adult! Readers who like The Hunger Games and Divergent would like this story.
Engaging. No sex or language issues. Glad I read it and am looking forward to the movie.

l
LisaintheLibrary
Oct 28, 2017

This book turned out to be much better than I thought it would be. I found the author to be very descriptive and the story so good and so different (at least to me), that, after a while, I began to wonder if there might be any plans to bring this story to a theater near you, perhaps rolled out game/contest style.

---

I did learn that Steven Spielberg took this on and that the film is scheduled for release at the end of March 2018. Whether or not it will be rolled out/marketed game/contest style remains to be seen, but I do know that you can enter a giveaway drawing for the print book over at www.goodreads.com (at least until October 30, 2017).

---

I skimmed through the other reviews here and noticed that one reviewer mentioned that this had elements of Farhenheit 451 and 1984. Perhaps I’ll recognize those elements that resemble those novels upon a subsequent reading or via the movie. To me, this book strongly reminded me of Willie Wonka and The Chocolate Factory, one of my favorite stories of all time, so it makes a lot of sense that I enjoyed this story, too. (Later I noticed that USA Today described this as Willie Wonka meets The Matrix, so I guess I’m not too off mark with the vibe I got while listening to the book.)

The same reviewer who mentioned Fahrenheit 451 and 1984 also mentioned regretting getting this as an audio book. I can see why someone would mention that. There were a couple of times when I found the reading of the video game scores rather tedious, but overall, I wouldn’t have opted for the print version. I thought the person chosen to do the narration had a voice that matched this character really well. Plus, it is quite likely that this would still be on my shelf of books to read if I had opted for the print version instead. It was quite easy to fit the audio version in during bits and pieces of spare time. If you’re able to listen to at least half an hour of it a day (and it doesn’t need to be all at once) you shouldn’t have any problem in keeping up with the characters or the story line.

A number of reviewers also mentioned all the 80s pop music references. Though I did see one complaint about it, I, like most of the reviewers here, really enjoyed it. The author makes reference to some really great songs from the 80s. Anyone remember “The Safety Dance” by Men Without Hats, “Burning Down the House” by the Talking Heads, or “Invincible” by Pat Benatar? Those are some of the more obscure song titles; he mentions other, better known ones as well. In fact, someone made a Spotify playlist of the songs mentioned in Ready Player One. You can link to it here: https://goo.gl/euUqYJ. In addition to that, the author even mentions the “Verb” song from Schoolhouse Rock. 80s references are sprinkled throughout the book. I think most who are familiar with that era will enjoy them.

m
ms2017
Aug 10, 2017

I guess I don't have any nostalgia for the 80s, or at least I don't find it interesting to read about references to The Breakfast Club or video games of that decade. The book is rife with these references that are meant to make people who grew up in the 80s smile to themselves and feel satisfied that they are in the know, but it's not interesting reading and it was distracting from the plot. Also, the main character is so petulant and self-righteous that it made me really dislike him. Not my style.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

l
LisaintheLibrary
Oct 28, 2017

“‘You mentioned that once on your blog. Two years ago.’ I almost cited the date of the actual blog entry before I realized it would make me sound even more like a cyber-stalking super-creep.”

l
LisaintheLibrary
Oct 28, 2017

"This ‘girl,’ whom I’d been cyber-crushing on for the past three years, might very well be an obese, hairy-knuckled guy named Chuck."

l
LisaintheLibrary
Oct 28, 2017

"Once I’d done my homework on Sorrento, I felt like I was ready to sit down with the devil."

l
LisaintheLibrary
Oct 28, 2017

"If I couldn't reach it on my own, I didn't deserve it at all."

l
LisaintheLibrary
Oct 28, 2017

"When it came to my research, I never took any shortcuts."

l
LisaintheLibrary
Oct 28, 2017

"... can we adjourn the Mutual Admiration Society ...?

l
LisaintheLibrary
Oct 28, 2017

"Dual zones permitted the use of both magic and technology, and null zones didn’t allow either. There were pacifist zones where no player-versus-player combat was allowed, and player-versus-player zones where it was every avatar for themselves."

l
LisaintheLibrary
Oct 28, 2017

Parzival: "The female of the species has always found me repellent."
Art3mis: "I don't find you repellent."

l
LisaintheLibrary
Oct 28, 2017

"I’d heard all the clichéd warnings about the perils of falling for someone you only knew online, but I ignored them. I decided that whoever Art3mis really was, I was in love with her. I could feel it, deep in the soft, chewy caramel center of my being."

l
LisaintheLibrary
Oct 28, 2017

"She was wearing evening attire: a gunmetal blue dress that looked like it was — spray-painted on."

View All Quotes

Age

Add Age Suitability

a
acooper112
Aug 01, 2018

acooper112 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

h
halburba
Jun 04, 2016

halburba thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

c
CL70
Apr 08, 2014

CL70 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CML

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top