The Children's Home

The Children's Home

A Novel

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
"For fans of Shirley Jackson, Neil Gaiman, Roald Dahl, and Edward Gorey, a...debut novel from an award-winning British author about a mysterious group of children who appear to a disfigured recluse and his country doctor--and the startling revelations their behavior evokes"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York :, Scribner,, 2016.
Edition: First Scribner hardcover edition.
ISBN: 9781501117411
1501117416
1501117416
1501117394
9781501117398
Characteristics: 1 online resource (210 pages)
Summary: "For fans of Shirley Jackson, Neil Gaiman, Roald Dahl, and Edward Gorey, a...debut novel from an award-winning British author about a mysterious group of children who appear to a disfigured recluse and his country doctor--and the startling revelations their behavior evokes"-- Provided by publisher.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Nicr Nov 21, 2016

Peculiar little supernatural story--a dark, dream-like fairy tale. A weird page-turner.

r
Rubicat
Aug 15, 2016

I enjoyed the ambiguity of the direction of this story - i had to keep changing my guesses as to where this was going but i really liked the book. It was quite different from what I usually read, and so much the better for that.

multcolib_karene Feb 21, 2016

A gothic-y fairy tale.

g
goddessbeth
Nov 12, 2015

The Children's Home is fairly engrossing, although so much of it is mysterious that it's not the easiest book to figure out. It's a great read if you're looking for something that makes you think and reflect on deeper concepts. It's got delightfully gothic elements (evocative of Henry James, mostly), but it's primarily a fiction.

I've seen it compared to works by Neil Gaiman, which I'd agree with because of the lyrical word choice and "less is more" approach; I've seen it compared to works by Edward Gorey, which I disagree with because it goes very deep and isn't self-reflective.

I'm still awed by how Lambert was able to weave a multi-level story from what few facts and reality-based touchstones are in this novel. It shouldn't have worked, but it did. And it worked so well that I read it in less than a week, and then had to sit and ruminate on it for another week. And it definitely didn't go where I was certain it would.

This is a book that will keep you guessing, and if you're open to not knowing where the author is going, to surprised and suspension of disbelief, and revel more in the deeper concepts than the surface story, I think you'll enjoy it. It's definitely well-suited to winter (it's published 1/5/16- I read an ARC), and I recommend it for fans of gothic multi-layer lyrical fiction.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CML

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top